A third tool will allow users to go back through any older posts where both parties have been identified and edit them, either making them private or untagging themselves. Currently, only Facebook users in the U.S. and on mobile devices will have access to these optional tools. Facebook intends to tweak the new features and roll them out to other locations depending on user feedback.
“We are testing tools to help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended,” said Facebook product manager Kelly Winters in a blog post.
“When people change their relationship status to indicate they are no longer in a relationship, they will be prompted to try these tools.”